Saturday, March 17, 2012

photoshop collage with cutouts


standards
3.0: Students will analyze and demonstrate design principles and processes.
5.0: Students will demonstrate image acquisition skills related to preparing graphic images for incorporation into layout design.
6.0: Students will demonstrate necessary skills related to assembling page elements for output.


Your assignment
Create a Photoshop document similar to the example shown in the link Sunset and Stones. To do this, you will need to have several images on several separate layers. The foreground image (the stones in the example) should be one that has a very simple background. A totally plain, one-color background is best. You will be cutting out the area surrounding the main image, so that the background layer is visible behind it. You decide on the background image layer. In the example above, the background layer is the sunset.

directions
open photoshop
go to window>workspace>default workspace (for CS3) window>workspace>essentials or design (for CS5)
go to file>new>name: type your name_collage with cutouts
width: 17 inches (not pixels)
height: 11 inches
resolution: 100
color mode: rgb
background contents: white
click OK

be sure you check Auto-Select Layer









1. Find images in caedes.net. caedes.net
You can use your own images or photos, or find copyright-free images from other sources.
2. Click once on one of the images and drag it to the desktop. Remember: At caedes.net, click on a photo, select one of the high resolution images and drag it to the desktop.
3. Drag it onto the Photoshop icon in the dock to open it.
4. Copy it into the new Photoshop document>Click and hold on the layer thumbnail>Drag it into the new Photoshop document.

Note: In CS5, your image layer thumbnails may have an X over them. If they do, click on the check mark in the Options Bar, then go to Layer>Rasterize>Smart Object

5. Resize: Go to Edit>Free Transform and resize the image to fit in the document. Hold down Shift to resize in proportion. Click the check mark when you have what you want or the cancel button if it’s not what you want.
6. Go to File>Save. Be sure you are saving into your folder.

Cut out a background
1. Cut the background out of your foreground image.
2. Use the magic wand tool, lasso tool, or eraser tool to cutout backgrounds.

Final collage: Have at least 7 cutout images along with one background layer.



Remember that you can turn off the eyeballs on Photoshop layers to simplify what you are doing to each layer.


Your grade will be based on:


1. Correct document size and specifications (10 points)
2. Correct number of images (10 points)
3. Photos resized to fit layout (10 points)
4. Backgrounds cutout cleanly on foreground image (70 points)



Wednesday, March 14, 2012

mar 12-16

ACT words

5B_Complete the Photoshop Collage assignment (below) today.

6B_Begin cut-outs for Photoshop Collage



photoshop collage


What I Want You to Know or Do:
Create a new document in photoshop according to written specifications
Capture high resolution digital images
Place digital images in a Photoshop document according to written instructions
Move and resize digital images on separate Photoshop layers
Add blending modes and filters to Photoshop layers
Type text on layers

Standards
3.Students will integrate reading, writing, math, and science skills and understand the impact of academic achievement in the workplace.

4.Students will relate and apply artistic knowledge, skills, techniques, processes and strategies for the creation of design, photographic, web, print, and various digital projects.

6.Students will produce creative and artistically pleasing media for use in various applications for advertising, internet, film, entertainment, and marketing communications.

10.Students will develop e-Skills that are flexible and evolve with the increasing demands of technology developments and business needs, helping students become life-long learners.

11.Students will demonstrate skills that are employable and desirable to a rapidly changing industry that demands innovation.





copying photos onto layers

working with the layers palette

directions
open photoshop
go to window>workspace>essentials or design (for CS5)
go to file>new>name: type your name_photoshop collage 1
width: 14 inches (not pixels)
height: 11 inches
resolution: 300
color mode: rgb
background contents: white
click OK



be sure you check Auto-Select Layer




1. Find high resolution images 


http://www.copyrightfreephotos.com/


or....not copyright free

2. Get the jpeg images onto your desktop. Sometimes you will download the images. Sometimes you will click, hold and drag the image onto your desktop. Sometimes you must click twice or 3 times to get a high res image. or on one of the images and drag it to the desktop. Remember: At caedes.net, click on a photo, select one of the high resolution images and drag it to the desktop.
3. Drag it onto the Photoshop icon in the dock to open it.
4. Copy it into the new Photoshop document>Click and hold on the layer thumbnail>Drag it into the new Photoshop document.

Note: In CS5, your image layer thumbnails may have an X over them. If they do, click on the check mark in the Options Bar, then go to Layer>Rasterize>Smart Object

5. Resize: Go to Edit>Free Transform and resize the image to fit in the document. Hold down Shift to resize in proportion. Click the check mark when you have what you want or the cancel button if it’s not what you want.
6. Go to File>Save. Be sure you are saving into your folder.

Repeat
1. Repeat steps 1-6 above and create 4 layers with a new photograph on each layer.
Resize all of the images to make them fit in the new document.
2. Double click on the Background layer. Click OK at the New Layer window.
3. Go to the Paint Bucket Tool and make the background black.
4. Save the document and tell me when you are finished.

Remember that you can turn off the eyeballs on Photoshop layers to simplify what you are doing to each layer.


Your grade will be based on:



1. Correct document size and specifications (25 points)
2. Seven photos on five layers (25 points)
3. Photos resized to fit layout (25 points)
4. Background color correct (25 points)



Tuesday, March 13, 2012

march 16

ACT words due today.

Block 5B
Go to caedes.net. Find photos that have a simple background. A photo of an object with a blue sky for the background is an example of a simple background. A photo of an object in a forest would have a very busy background. You will be cutting the background out in Photoshop, so keep it simple. Keep your photos in your folder.

Block 6B
Work on your Photoshop collage.



Sunday, March 4, 2012

mar 5-8_makeup & exam

ACT words. ACT words may not be made up. A zero remains a zero.

Makeup work. 75% credit for past due work. Discuss this with me if you are interested.

We have a 9 week exam (see below) due on March 7. You may work on it today and finish on Wednesday. Let me know today if you do cannot do any of the following. I can review and help you today, but not on Wednesday.


Exam

standards
3.0: Students will analyze and demonstrate design principles and processes.
5.0: Students will demonstrate image acquisition skills related to preparing graphic images for incorporation into layout design.
6.0: Students will demonstrate necessary skills related to assembling page elements for output.

for help


custom shape tool


typing in photoshop


copying photos onto layers

http://stevecampbellhillwoodsamples.blogspot.com/2010/12/copy-images-into-photoshop.html


working with the layers palette

http://stevecampbellhillwoodsamples.blogspot.com/2010/12/layers-palette.html


applying blending modes to type

http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2011/03/type-tool-using-blending-modes.html



directions

open photoshop

go to window>workspace>default workspace (for CS3) window>workspace>essentials or design (for CS5)

go to file>new>name: type your name_9 week exam_mar 7_2012

width: 8 inches (not pixels)

height: 8 inches

resolution: 100

color mode: rgb

background contents: white

click OK


be sure you check Auto-Select Layer












exam


1. Go to caedes.net

http://www.caedes.net/Zephir.cgi?gallery=photography&lib=Caedes::Gallery

2. Find 2 interesting photos and place them in your folder on your desktop.

Remember: At caedes.net, click on a photo, select one of the high resolution images and drag it to the desktop.

The pixel dimensions of your Photoshop document is 1000 x 1000.


Note: You may use photos from another source. Be sure they have the correct resolution.



1. Copy two of the photos onto separate layers in your Photoshop document

2. Apply the blending mode Multiply to both layers

3. Type your name in a different typeface and color on a type layer. Make your name 36 points.

4. Apply Bevel and Emboss to your name

5. Apply Warp Text>Style>Wave to your name





Your grade will be based on:


1. Correct document size and specifications (20 points)

2. Two photos on two layers (20 points)

3. Correct point size for your name (20 points)

4. Bevel and Emboss applied to your name (20 points)

5. Warp Text, Style: Wave applied to your name (20 points)












Saturday, February 18, 2012

digital portfolio using Preview feb 27-mar 2

ACT words

Please check Gradespeed

Create a digital portfolio:

standard

13.0: Students will develop a portfolio.


assignment objectives:

To read and follow directions

To create a PDF digital portfolio using Photoshop


assignment:

Create a new folder titled "your name_digital portfolio"


Place some of your finished artwork, plus your resume, in that folder.


You may need to create your resume in Photoshop and save it as a JPEG. You already should have your resume typed, so just copy and paste it into a Photoshop document. If it is a Text Edit document, you can use File>Save As>Save as PDF.....


Save all the PSD files as JPEG's. To do this, go to File>Save As>JPEG.



For a grade of 100, you should have:


1. A cover page that says:

Your Name

Digital Portfolio


You can do this in Photoshop.




3. At least 5 pieces of artwork. These could be:


Typing Tool assignment

Custom Shape Tool assignment

Hillwood News logo

Song Lyric assignment

Parthenon poster

Other


3. Your resume. Here is the minimum amount of information you should have on your resume:


Name


Address


Phone number


email address


Career goal or job objective


Education


Work experience


Skills






Directions: Be sure you type the topics Career Goal or Job Objective, Education, Work Experience, and Skills on the document, then list your specific skills after those topics.




Here is a link to sample resumes:

http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2011/04/april-20-21.html






Now, click once on your digital portfolio folder.


Inside, click once on the name of the file you want to show first when you "play" your portfolio. This should be your cover page artwork.


Highlight the name of the file (do not highlight the file extension, which should be .jpg) and type the letter a. For the file you want to play next, type b. Continue to the end of your files.


Select all the files in this folder.


Go to File>Open with>Preview.


You should see all your files as one PDF document.


In Preview, go to View>Slideshow.


Click on the arrow keys to play your portfolio.





Saturday, February 4, 2012

feb 13-17

All past due work is due this week or it will become a zero.

Work on your logo designs and sketchbooks.

Your grade:
ACT words
ACT words are due each week. Your grade will be a zero if you do not turn the ACT words in when they are due. You cannot makeup ACT words unless you have an excused absence.

If you are in the Art, Design and Communications (ADC) academy, you will submit your ACT word assignment through Edmodo, using your laptop. All ADC academy students must submit this assignment on line, using Edmodo. If you are in the ADC academy and you do not submit through Edmodo, your grade will be a zero.

If you are not in the ADC academy, you may submit this assignment on paper. You are encouraged to submit the assignment online as well. You could work with someone who has a laptop, or you could use another computer to submit the ACT words assignment through Edmodo.

Late work, if it is accepted, will be given a grade of 75% of what the original score would have been. If your grade would have been 100 if you turned it in on time, your late grade will be 75.