Monday, December 28, 2015

make new layer & delete layer


Friday, December 25, 2015

color wheel & color theory


Assignment: Create a traditional color wheel showing primary, secondary and tertiary colors.

Here is an example of a traditional color wheel.








Standards
9) Explain the function of the color wheel and identify techniques that achieve desired hues, values, intensities, and color schemes for use in design. 
10) Research the psychological characteristics of colors.
11) Examine color theories.


What I want you to know or do:
1. Name primary and secondary colors
2. Create a color wheel using correct primary, secondary and tertiary colors.
3. Identify color harmonies.
4. Define color terminology including subtractive, additive, hue, saturation, value color mode in design and printing.


Directions:
1. Click on this link for a color wheel template:
http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2015/12/color-wheel-template_25.html
2. Click once on the color wheel.
3. Then click and drag the color wheel in the new window onto your desktop.
4. When it appears on your desktop, click and drag it to the Photoshop icon to open it.
5. Go to Image>Image Size.
6. Be sure this is your document size:






















7. Use the Paint Bucket tool to color in primary, secondary, and tertiary colors.

Create your colors using the Swatches Palette, Window>Swatches, and/or the Foreground Color Picker.
















Foreground Color Picker




8. Save your work as Color Wheel_your name.

To see how colors are mixed: https://www.drawspace.com/lessons/view/r01

Your color wheel should look like this when you are finished:

color wheel template


Wednesday, December 23, 2015

If you don't see Tools, Layers, etc.

Go to Window on the top Photoshop Bar 





When the menu opens, click to put a check on what you are not seeing on your desktop. For example, Window>Tools should be checked or Window>Layers is open on your desktop.






finding & placing photos in Photoshop

Remember to be sure you have high resolution photos. That's a resolution of 1000 pixels or more. In Google Images, hover over the image to see the resolution. 

If this is the image you want, click on it and you should get a new window. In this window, select and click on View Image. Drag this to your desktop or Photoshop document.














Remember you may need to go to Layer>Rasterize>Layer or Smart Object as you work with photos.

If you need to resize photos, go here:
http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2015/12/resizing-photo.html


Here is a link to the best way to place photos:
http://stevecampbellhillwoodsamples.blogspot.com/2010/12/copy-images-into-photoshop.html

change typeface and its color


photoshop tools and setup

Once Photoshop is open, go to Window>Workspace>Essentials

Then be sure you have checked:
Layers
Application frame (if available)
Application Bar
Options
Tools

Click on the Move Tool and select Auto Select>Layer