Sunday, September 19, 2010

9_29 & 30 assignments

Have a folder for a sketchbook or a sketchbook. I will give you a grade at the end of class.


Photoshop assignment 9_29 & 30


If you need help with Photoshop, go to http://stevecampbellhillwoodsamples.blogspot.com/


1. Open photoshop

2. Go to Window>Workspace>Default Workspace

3. Go to File>New>Name: type your name_photoshop_9_29 & 30

Width: 14 inches (not pixels)

Height:11 inches

Resolution: 100

Color Mode: RGB color

Background Contents: White

Click OK


NOTE: Look in the top Options Bar, right below the word “Photoshop”.

Be sure that Auto Select Layer is checked.


1. Find an image in caedes.net. caedes.net

2. Click once on one of the images and drag it to the desktop.

3. Drag it onto the Photoshop icon in the dock to open it.

4. Copy it into the new Photoshop document>Click and hold on the layer thumbnail>Drag it into the new Photoshop document.

5. Resize: Go to Edit>Free Transform and resize the image to fit in the document. Hold down Shift to resize in proportion. Click the check mark when you have what you want or the cancel button if it’s not what you want.

6. Go to File>Save. Be sure you are saving into your folder.


Repeat

1. Repeat steps 1-6 above and create 5 layers with a new photograph on each layer.

Resize all of the to make them fit in the new document.

2. Double click on the Background layer. Click OK at the New Layer window.

3. Go to the Paint Bucket Tool and make the background blue.

4. Save the document and tell me when you are finished.


Remember that you can turn off the eyeballs on Photoshop layers to simplify what you are doing to each layer.


Thursday, September 16, 2010

can do for photoshop to illustrator exam

Ask yourself, can I?


Open Photoshop

Create a new Photoshop document using correct specifications

Place a photo in Photoshop

Resize the photo

Erase the background of the photo

Name the document and save it into your desktop folder


Open Illustrator

Create a new Illustrator document using correct specifications

Place the photo created in Photoshop in the Illustrator document

Resize the photo

Rasterize the photo

Complete a live trace of the photo using correct specifications

Expand the live trace

Use the Direct Selection Tool to recolor shapes in the photo/image

Place a colored background the same size as the document

Move the background to the back of the document

Type your name in the document, using a designated type face and type size

Name the document and save it into your desktop folder


How to do all of these things can be found on this blog or at http://stevecampbellhillwoodsamples.blogspot.com/


You must know how to do them on your own.

Friday, September 10, 2010

SkillsUSA

STANDARD 1.0: Students will demonstrate leadership, citizenship, and teamwork skills required for success in the school, community, and workplace.

1.1 Demonstrate dignity in work.

1.2 Participate in SkillsUSA-VICA as an integral part of classroom instruction.

1.3 Evaluate school, community, and work place situations by applying problem-solving and decision-making skills.

1.4 Demonstrate the ability to work professionally with others.


In our class, we have a club. This club is called a Career and Technical Student Organization or CTSO. The name of the CTSO is SkillsUSA. It is an international organization of around 300,000 students like you, teachers, and businesses, all dedicated to developing a highly skilled American workforce.


The organization was actually founded in Nashville in 1965.


So what exactly is SkillsUSA and what is this club all about?

Here's how we will find out:

Go to http://www.skillsusa.org/

Click on About Us>Key Facts>SkillsUSA Fact Sheet.


Read the Overview and Mission portions. In your own words explain what SkillsUSA is and what its purpose is. Write 3 - 5 complete sentences.


There are also contests and competitions for SkillsUSA members. These take place all across the state and would involve missing a few days of school (SRA's) if you competed. I know that is bad news, but true.


Go to http://www.skillsusa.org/compete/contests.shtml


There are three contest categories in which you might compete if you take courses that I teach. What do you think they are? You do not have to go beyond G alphabetically.


This club is also about community service. List five things you could do to be of service to your community, school, or this classroom.


Next week, we will discuss club membership, meetings and activities. So think about it. Do you want to take a field trip, visit businesses like advertising agencies, have meetings and bring in food? We'll talk next week.


Today:


1. Go to the links and read the information.

2. Turn in a paper with your name and block.

3. In your own words explain what SkillsUSA is and what its purpose is. Write 3 - 5 complete sentences.

4. What are the three contest categories connected to this class that you might compete in.

5. List five things you could do to be of service to your community, school, or this classroom.


Thursday, September 9, 2010

safety in this classroom

Safety in this class


1. Do not throw anything at any time. Even a sheet of paper or an eraser can cause an injury.


2. Use extreme caution when using X-acto knives, paper cutters, mat cutters, scissors, the tape dispenser, or any sharp instruments. Always cut away from your body, especially your hands.


When using X-acto knives for cutting at a drawing table, a piece of mat board, railroad board, or other similar substance should be placed between the item you are cutting and your wooden desktop.


Never take any tools or equipment outside the classroom. Many of these items may be considered weapons and could result in a zero-tolerance offense.


3. Never possess any item that can produce a flame. Never strike a match, lighter, or any other item that can produce a flame. Some materials such as rubber cement, are flammable and can cause fire.


4. When using spray products such as fixative, spray mount, etc., be sure that you do so in proper ventilation.

Inhaling the fumes of spray fixative, rubber cement, or rubber cement thinner could be toxic and hazardous to one's health and lead to respiratory problems.


5. Follow proper safety precautions when working around electrical equipment, outlets, cords, etc. Never make contact with an electrical device when any of your hands or any other body parts are wet.


6. Do not have any food, liquids, soft drinks, milk, etc., near a computer.


7. Do not run, push, shove, or engage in "horseplay" in the classroom.


8. Be sure that your seat is stable and that all its legs are in contact with the floor. Do not lean back in your seat.


9. Know the location of the fire extinguisher. In case of fire, leave the room calmly, turn right and exit the building. Assemble in the parking lot for attendance check.


10. Report any damaged equipment, broken equipment, accidents or any potential hazard to the classroom teacher immediately.


11. OSHA stands for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration


12. Accidents or injuries occurring in the classroom should be reported to the instructor immediately.

Accidents require that an accident report be filed. Even a small scratch may seem minor but could become serious if left untreated.


Saturday, September 4, 2010

photoshop to illustrator assignment

Objectives

To place a JPEG image in a Photoshop document

To erase a background from a JPEG image in Photoshop

To create an Illustrator document

To copy a Photoshop image into an Illustrator document

To use the Live Trace command in Illustrator


Assignment in Photoshop


First, Window>Workspace>Default Workspace


1. Create a new Photoshop document

2. Size: 10 inches x 10 inches. Be sure this is inches, not pixels.

3. Resolution: 100

4. Color Mode: RGB

5. Background Contents: White

6. Place a JPEG in the Photoshop document. caedes.net

7. Cut out or erase the background from the photo


Save As Your name_cutout_today's date. Save into your folder. You can Save As either a JPEG or PSD.


8. Go to Select>All

9. Edit>Copy


Assignment in Illustrator


First, Window>Workspace>Basic


1. Create a new Illustrator document

2. Size: 10 inches x 10 inches

3. Edit>Paste

4. Object>Rasterize.

5. Color Model: CMYK

6. Resolution: High (300 ppi)

7. OK

8. Object>Live Trace>Tracing Options

9. Mode: Color

10. Max Colors: 6 to 16

11. Check Preview

Note: Try the Blur effect. It will really help a complex trace.

12. Save all your work. Your name_cutout_today's date.

13. If you like how the trace looks, click on the Expand button in the top menu bar.

14. With the Selection Tool (the black arrow) click and drag to make the image the size you want it.

15. Click on the Direct Selection Tool. That's the white arrow.

16. Click on the individual shapes and recolor them.

17. Save


Finish up


1. Click on the Rectangle Tool. It's located 8 down from the top.

2. Click and drag in the document to make a background that completely covers the document.

3. Go to Object>Arrange>Send to Back

4. If the area around your image is white, go to the Direct Selection Tool. Click on the whites shapes and press delete on your keyboard.

5. Select the Type Tool. Type your name. Go to Type>Font to see what the typefaces look like.

6. Resize and rearrange the image and your name so that your artwork shows good design.

7. Save into your desktop folder

8. Turn in a piece of paper with your name_photoshop to illustrator. Write your block, the date and the computer you are on.

If your desktop folder is not the same as your name, write down the desktop folder name.



Help

http://stevecampbellhillwoodsamples.blogspot.com/

To resize: Edit>Free Transform in Photoshop


If you can't see everything: View>Fit on Screen in Photoshop or View>Fit in Window in Illustrator

illustrator_live trace

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

MNPS is going green

introduction


MNPS is ordering a 20ft. cargo trailer that will contain some equipment and curriculum for engineering and construction teachers to teach a “going green” unit. It is going to be a mobile going green lab. You can create artwork that will be reproduced on this mobile lab.


assignment title:

"MNPS is Going Green"


the assignment:


Create artwork that communicates this concept. Your artwork will be painted or printed on a 20 foot mobile cargo trailer.


steps:


day 1

list 20 images that come to mind when you see or hear the words "go" & "green"

find 10 examples of styles of graphics or logos that you think could be used to create artwork for this assignment


day 2

sketch 5 ideas for your artwork


day 3

begin the artwork for your design


day 4

finish your artwork


how do I do it?


drawing

painting (watercolor, tempera)

scanning

computer (if you download fonts or brushes, cite the URL. You must have copyright permission.)




assessment:

observation and completion of lists, ideas, and sketches


design rubric

does it contain the words "MNPS is going green"?

does it use images?

do the words & images communicate the concept?

is the design interesting and effective?


good design

a center of interest

emphasis on the most important part of the design

all the space is used

communicates the message

the WOW factor


URL’s:

http://www.britnett-carver2.co.uk/comms633/images/LogoDesignBIG.jpg



http://justcreativedesign.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/professionallogodesign.gif


http://www.theaddesignguys.com/img/LogoDesign_Large1.jpg


http://foxinni.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/lente_lawaai_logo1.jpg


http://www.macwareinc.com/images/screenshots/ldspro//LDSproobjects.jpg


http://www.commarts.com/


http://www.aiga.org/


copyright free brushes_personal & commercial use


http://pinkonhead.com/freebies/photoshop/review-of-my-free-photoshop-brushes-and-patterns/


http://webdesignerlab.com/


downloads_ permission to use


When you download brushes, vector art or images, we must be sure that we can use them for our projects. If we need to check, I will do that for you.


Here is what you should do:

1. Copy the address and paste it into a Text Edit document. Finder menu>Go>Applications>Text Edit.

2. Send the address to me in an email. stephen.campbell@mnps.org


illustrator tutorials


http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/illustrator/ss/typeonapath.htm

http://www.bittbox.com/illustrator/how-to-make-smooth-lines-in-illustrator


the trailer

http://www.hampden.com/tortoisecms/uploads/files/Mobile%20Training%20Facilities.pdf